Skip to content

UGA at Oxford - Foundation Fellows Maymester : Reviews (Oxford)

The following program review responses have been selected for publication by Education Abroad
Program Evaluation
Trisha Dalapati, Maymester 2016 Participant
104 Banbury is a beautiful house. I appreciated the the kitchen being well stocked. My room was lovely; the scouts were so nice! I also really enjoyed the Cornwall excursion and am glad we got two days there.

 

Mackenzie Rose Joy, Maymester 2017 Participant
The live in RAs were extremely helpful in this area.

 

Trisha Dalapati, Maymester 2016 Participant
Dr. Birks is a wonderful professor, and I enjoyed his class and his feedback on essays a lot.

 

Laurel Hiatt, Maymester 2016 Participant
We were responsible for our own meals but given a very good budget.

 

Maymester 2016 Participant
The program was a great experience!

 

Maymester 2016 Participant
The program was wonderful. Even when I was sick for a prolonged period of time, I was still able to enjoy Oxford as much as possible thanks to the support and planning of my program leaders.

 

Mckenna Aliya Barney, Maymester 2017 Participant
The program was fantastic, I have no complaints.

 

Jessica Yan Ma, Maymester 2017 Participant
It has been less than a month since the Maymester ended but I already miss it. It was a wonderful experience sharing the UGA House with the other first-year Fellows and Franklin students. I am so grateful to have had such an incredible opportunity for learning, both in the classroom and elsewhere in Oxford.

 

Maymester 2017 Participant
Get a bus pass so you go to city center more often.

 

Jessica Yan Ma, Maymester 2017 Participant
Advice for future participants: Leave the house! It can be easy to feel lethargic and stay in the house, especially if your class is in the house and you have a lot of work to do for class. But Oxford is an amazing city with so many attractions to offer, so take advantage of your short time there and make the most of it!

 

Ashley Uchenna Amukamara, Maymester 2016 Participant
Oxford is such an interesting place to study! The Maymester was more than an educational experience: it was a way to learn more about different places and their cultures. I wish I could go back!

 

Maymester 2016 Participant
The study abroad program at Oxford was one of the most academically enriching experiences I've ever had.

 

Maymester 2016 Participant
The UGA experience at Oxford provides a unique and enriching opportunity to experience the amazing academic and social environments of England and Oxford University. This program is one of a kind.

 

Maymester 2016 Participant
Studying in Oxford helped me to realize that I can feel at home, no matter where I am. Whether my friends, professor, and I were debating medical ethics where the first brain surgery took place, or were studying in the UGA House's library, we learned what it was like to be students at Oxford and became a family in the process.

 

Mckenna Aliya Barney, Maymester 2017 Participant
104 Banbury Road will always feel like a home to me and I am so grateful I had the opportunity to study in such an incredible place as Oxford. Being constantly surrounded by history and intellect was an experience that can only Oxford could provide and I was in constant awe of my surroundings and the individuals I was able to meet.

 

Maymester 2017 Participant
UGA at Oxford is a fantastic program that gives students a way to experience one of the most prestigious institutions in the world while still feeling at home.

 

Jessica Yan Ma, Maymester 2017 Participant
Thanks to the Maymester, this has been the best summer of my life. I loved the opportunity to take a class at Oxford and get to know the city as a home away from home. It's been less than a month since the program ended and I already want to go back!