Skip to content

and Ireland : Reviews (Antrim)

The following program review responses have been selected for publication by Education Abroad
Program Evaluation
Anna Fitzgerald Mathews, Maymester 2017 Participant
The orientations were very helpful to me as this was my first time going abroad. All the material was reviewed several times to ensure we understood and all my questions were fully answered. The orientations really helped quell most of the anxiety I had about travelling abroad.

 

Anna Fitzgerald Mathews, Maymester 2017 Participant
I felt safe at every hotel we stayed in and at all the places we visited. Our professors made safety a priority and there was never a situation where I felt my safety was at risk.

 

Megan Lenora Wilson, Maymester 2017 Participant
I felt very safe the whole trip! I tended be a little more aware while in Paris and London, but I feel that our professors did a good job of preparing us. I never felt threatened by pickpockets or unsafe in any of our hotels.

 

Anna Fitzgerald Mathews, Maymester 2017 Participant
I think the workload was appropriate given that the trip was only 3 weeks long. I think it was reasonable to have some quizzes during the trip to make sure we were learning what we should. I also appreciate that most of the assignments were due after the trip was over so we could have time to reflect on the trip and finish the assignments.

 

Brittnei Nicole Padgett, Maymester 2017 Participant
Absolutely amazing!!

 

Megan Lenora Wilson, Maymester 2017 Participant
I found the mix of history, horticulture, and art fascinating. The quizzes weren't too hard and all of the assignments seem very appropriate.

 

Anna Fitzgerald Mathews, Maymester 2017 Participant
I thought there was a great balance of gardens and museums that we visited. I enjoyed all the sites we visited and I thought that each one was important to visit in order to understand the material we were learning. I think the order in which we visited each place made sense and there was a great balance of time spent in each location.

 

Anna Fitzgerald Mathews, Maymester 2017 Participant
Given the relatively low cost of this trip, the housing exceeded my expectations. All the hotels were in great locations in each city that allowed easy access to the places we wanted to visit. All the hotels were very clean and I never felt unsafe.

 

Anna Fitzgerald Mathews, Maymester 2017 Participant
I appreciated that breakfast was provided at almost all the hotels. I really enjoyed the two group dinners we had and wish we had more of those. However, I did appreciate the opportunity to have most of the meals on our own so we could explore the cities and find local restaurants that wouldn't be able to accommodate large groups.

 

Anna Fitzgerald Mathews, Maymester 2017 Participant
I think there was plenty of free time given in each city so we could visit places that weren't on the itinerary. I had the best interactions with the local culture during these free days when we could explore more of the cities and visit more cultural sites.

 

Anna Fitzgerald Mathews, Maymester 2017 Participant
Dr. Smalley and Dr. van Iersel were always willing to answer questions about the material and always made sure everyone understood what material we were expected to know. They were very helpful to those of us who had never traveled abroad before and helped quell our anxiety about travelling internationally.

 

Anna Fitzgerald Mathews, Maymester 2017 Participant
This program as a very high value relative to the cost. I was very impressed that the cost covered several high quality hotels, admission into all the places we visited, and several modes of transportation. I did not pay for much out of pocket except for meals and activities we did on free days.

 

Brittnei Nicole Padgett, Maymester 2017 Participant
I would give this 10 stars if I could.

 

Nathan Tyler Outlaw, Maymester 2017 Participant
I honestly had no clue what to expect before going on the trip. I knew I was excited to be going on my first trip out of the country, but I hadn't really thought what it would el like when I got there. When we arrived and began going on excursions, my expectations were exceeded and I knew that I had made the right choice for my study abroad program. The professors for the trip did an amazing job of choosing destinations to weave into the course material, as well as spacing out the time spent in each city. The overall quality of the program was truly amazing for the price that I paid. I know for a fact that I could not have planned such a quality trip for the same money in the time that we were in Europe. Overall, I was very fortunate to be able to participate in this program and strongly recommend for any future applicants who are looking for a life changing college experience.

 

Margaret Palmer Brigham, Maymester 2017 Participant
Great experience!

 

Shannon Leigh Freeland, Maymester 2017 Participant
Everything was handled and organized very well.

 

Maymester 2017 Participant
I would recommend this program!

 

Anna Fitzgerald Mathews, Maymester 2017 Participant
I highly recommend this trip to anyone who wants to see many different cities and cultures in a short time and gain an appreciation for European art and garden history. If you go on this trip I recommend bring a good camera because there are so many moments that you will want to photograph, especially in the gardens. It is a once in a lifetime trip and you should definitely go if you have the opportunity.

 

Margaret Palmer Brigham, Maymester 2017 Participant
This trip brings the history, culture and literature experienced in the classroom to life.

 

Shannon Leigh Freeland, Maymester 2017 Participant
This trip went above and beyond my expectations. To completely immerse myself in the gardens and art of Europe was an indescribable experience that I would recommend to anyone. The trip was the perfect amount of time and gave a taste of all of the amazing sights to see in Europe. It will definitely make you want to return one day!

 

Allison Mae Griner, Maymester 2017 Participant
A trip that will give you so much adventure, but will leave you wanting so much more. It will teach you to become a traveller!

 

Abbigail Gwenn Hall, Maymester 2017 Participant
Dr. Smalley and Dr. Van Iersel were amazing in leading the students and teaching throughout this program! They have so much experience in traveling in general but specifically the countries in which the program travels through. They are super fun and take time to get to know every student!

 

Megan Lenora Wilson, Maymester 2017 Participant
I'm a grad student that went on the trip and I thought I had missed my chances while I was in undergrad. This trip was amazing from the people I met to the places I went to the things I learned. I couldn't have asked for a better first experience abroad and I'm so thankful that I got to do it through this class.